Site icon DW Faisalabad

Illustrator’s Type Tool

Illustrator’s Type Tool: A Comprehensive Introduction

A few times a each month we revisit some of our reader’s favorite posts from throughout the history of Vectortuts+. This tutorial by Ian Yates was first published on October 4th 2008.

Type is an essential part of Illustrator; whether you’re desktop publishing, designing logos, or using type for image building, you’ll be reaching for the Type Tool. This guide comprehensively covers the essentials of what is a huge amount of Illustrator functionality, which is type.

  1. Hold Shift whilst Type tool is selected to switch between vertical and horizontal orientation.
  2. Press Esc whilst Typing to release from Type object. Selection tool is chosen and Type object remains selected.

Type is a huge part of what Illustrator does and as a result the list of options for defining text is immense. The most appropriate panels when working on text-based documents can be revealed by going to Window > Workspace > [Type]. This default workspace will give you all the essential type-editing panels. Further panels can be found under Window > Type, and the most crucial are listed below with brief descriptions.

Your text-editing work-horse. Here you can alter the appearance of your type, character by character. Here are some useful terms found in the Character panel :

All your basic options for defining paragraphs (sections of text separated by line breaks). Options here include indentation, alignment, and spacing above and below paragraphs.

Also worth noting is the Hyphenation option. When selected this allows words to be hyphenated (-) should they be too long for the text area and need wrapping to the following line. Where exactly the words become hyphenated is defined by the current selected language (see Character Panel). Make sure therefore that if you choose Hyphenation that the selected language corresponds with the language of the text.

This Panel is used to define how you wish to display alternate Open Typecharacters within your document. Alternative characters available for the selected font family can be seen in the Glyphs Panel (see below).

The Glyphs Panel displays alternative characters available for any given font. With the type cursor prepared for typing on your artboard, click on a glyph to insert it into your document. This panel allows different sized thumbnails for ease of viewing, selection menu to display only certain glyphs, and drop-down menus for alternatives.

Invaluable when building a document with recurring styles. In the same way that InDesign uses defined styles and CSS defines element styles, here you can predefine styles to apply to multiple instances of type. For example, you have a header which you set to 18pt, Bold, and underlined.

Use the New Character Style from the panel submenu and set these attributes as a style. Future instances of text to which you apply this style will adopt this appearance. Should you edit the style with Redefine Character Style, then all text instances with the style will be automatically updated.

This acts in the same way as the Character Styles Panel but (obviously) applies styles to paragraphs.

Whilst text is selected, open this panel to have it appear directly above your text. Add and edit tabs applying immediate results on the selected text.

Simple, yet effective. All your fundamental type options are on the toolbar above your artboard. (Paragraph alignment options shown here apply to vertically orientated text as the vertical type tool is currently selected.)

Go to Illustrator > Preferences > Type. Listed here are some of the more important options under the Type Preferences dialogue:

Go to Illustrator > Preferences > Hyphenation. Just as explained under The Paragraph Panel this determines the base language of your text for hyphenation purposes. Exceptions are also allowed, which won’t be hyphenated when text wrapping is needed. In this example, Vectortuts and Tutorial are made exempt from hyphenation.

With the Direct Selection Tool, click on the small red cross icon on an Area Type Object (this appears when text is too large for the container). Clicking again on the artboard will create a container of equal dimensions, clicking and dragging will create a container of whatever dimensions you determine. Your text will automatically flow between the newly linked containers.

Go to Object > Path > Clean Up and select Empty Text Paths to remove unwanted empty type objects which may have slipped your attention.

Use the Direct Selection tool to edit handle positions along a Type Path. Handles affect start points, end points, position, and the baseline (whether above or below a path). Use the central handle to flip the baseline or go to Type > Type On A Path > Type On A Path Options, select Flip, and click OK.

The Type functionality which Illustrator offers is a massive topic. This guide gives a comprehensive introduction to the type tools. Play around with the many options on offer and watch out for further type tutorials here.

Exit mobile version