Protect Sheet

When you share an Excel file with other users, you may want to protect a worksheet to help prevent it from being changed. 1. Right click a worksheet tab. 2. Click Protect Sheet. 3. Enter a password. 4. Check the actions you allow the users of your worksheet to perform. 5. Click OK. Note: if […]

Protect Workbook

This example teaches you how to protect the workbook structure in Excel. If you protect the workbook structure, users cannot insert, delete, rename, move, copy, hide or unhide worksheets anymore. 1. Open a workbook. 2. On the Review tab, in the Changes group, click Protect Workbook. 3. Check Structure, enter a password and click OK. […]

Protect

Encrypt an Excel file with a password so that it requires a password to open it. 1. Open a workbook. 2. On the File tab, click Save As. 3. Click Browse. 4. Click on the Tools button and click General Options. 5. In the Password to open box, enter a password and click OK. 6. […]

Sharing and Outsourcing

Embed Embed an Excel worksheet in a Word document and work with Excel in Word. You can also embed files in Excel. 1. Select the Excel data. 2. Right click, and then click Copy (or press CTRL + c). 3. Open a Word document. 4. In word, on the Home tab, in the Clipboard group, […]

How To Use and Transfer Files Using SHAREit

SHAREit is one of the best apps to transfer files faster through WiFi without any network connection. How To Use Shareit ? In this guide, I have taken the example of transferring the files between my android smartphone and windows PC. Same procedure can be applicable while transferring files for any devices like android to […]

Print Area

If you set a print area in Excel, only that area will be printed. The print area is saved when you save the workbook. To set a print area, execute the following steps. 1. Select a range of cells. 2. On the Page Layout tab, in the Page Setup group, click Print Area. 3. Click […]

Print Gridlines and Headings

Print gridlines (the horizontal and vertical lines on your worksheet) and row/column headers (1, 2, 3 etc. and A, B, C etc.) to make your printed copy easier to read. To print gridlines and headings in Excel, execute the following steps. 1. On the Page Layout tab, in the Sheet Options group, check Print under […]

Center on Page

To center a range of cells on a printed page in Excel automatically, execute the following steps. 1. On the File tab, click Print. 2. Click ‘Custom Margins’ from the Margins drop-down list. 3. Next, check horizontally and vertically. 4. Click OK. .

Print Titles

You can specify rows and columns in Excel that will be printed on each printed page. This can make your printed copy easier to read. To print titles, execute the following steps. 1. On the Page Layout tab, in the Page Setup group, click Print Titles. The Page Setup dialog box appears. 2. To repeat […]

Page Numbers

This example teaches you how to print page numbers in Excel. 1. On the View tab, in the Workbook Views group, click Page Layout, to switch to Page Layout view. 2. Click Add footer. The Header & Footer Tools contextual tab activates. 3. On the Design tab, in the Header & Footer Elements group, click […]

Headers and Footers

This example teaches you how to add information to the header (top of each printed page) or footer (bottom of each printed page) in Excel. 1. On the View tab, in the Workbook Views group, click Page Layout, to switch to Page Layout view. 2. Click Add header. The Header & Footer Tools contextual tab […]

Page Breaks

Insert a page break in Excel to specify where a new page will begin in the printed copy. To insert a horizontal page break, execute the following steps. 1. Select the first row of the new page. 2. On the Page Layout tab, in the Page Setup group, click Breaks. 3. Click Insert Page Break. […]

Workbook Views

Excel offers three workbooks views, Normal, Page Layout and Page Break Preview.Normal At any time, you can switch back to Normal view. 1. On the View tab, in the Workbook Views group, click Normal. Result: Note: if you switch to another view and return to Normal view, Excel displays page breaks. Close and reopen the […]

Print

This chapter teaches you how to print a worksheet and how to change some important print settings in Excel. Print a Worksheet To print a worksheet in Excel, execute the following steps. 1. On the File tab, click Print. 2. To preview the other pages that will be printed, click ‘Next Page’ or ‘Previous Page’ […]

Page Breaks

Insert a page break in Excel to specify where a new page will begin in the printed copy. To insert a horizontal page break, execute the following steps. 1. Select the first row of the new page. 2. On the Page Layout tab, click Breaks, Insert Page Break. Excel displays a dashed line to show […]

Workbook Views

Excel offers three workbooks views, Normal, Page Layout and Page Break Preview. Normal At any time, you can switch back to Normal view. 1. On the View tab, click Normal (or click the Normal icon in the status bar). Note: if you switch to another view and return to Normal view, Excel displays page breaks. […]

Printing worksheet

This chapter teaches you how to print a worksheet and how to change some important print settings in Excel. Print a WorksheetTo print a worksheet in Excel 2010, execute the following steps. 1. On the File tab, click Print. 2. To preview the other pages that will be printed, click ‘Next Page’ or ‘Previous Page’ […]

Key Tips

Key Tips (keyboard shortcuts for the Ribbon) allow you to quickly perform any task available on the Ribbon without using the mouse. 1. To show the key tips, press ALT. 2. For example, to select the Insert tab, press n. 3. For example, to insert a column chart, press c. 4. To insert a stacked […]

Function Keys

Function keys allow you to do things with your keyboard instead of your mouse to increase your speed. F1 Opens Excel Help (the same as clicking the question mark). F2 Moves the insertion point to the end of the contents of the active cell. For example, select cell B6 below and press F2. Note: turn […]