Default Templates

Book.xltx and Sheet.xltx are two special templates you can create and add to the XLStart folder. As a result, Excel uses Book.xltx as the basis for new workbooks and Sheet.xltx as the basis for new worksheets. Book.xltxTo create Book.xltx, execute the following steps. 1. Create a workbook. For example, change the row height of all […]

Create Automated Invoice – MS Excel

This article describes how to automate the generation of invoices in Excel. If you are in a hurry, simply download the Excel file. This is what the spreadsheet looks like. If you select a Client nr from the drop-down list in cell E6, Excel automatically fills in the client information. If you select a Product […]

Create Invoice – MS Excel

This article describes how to create a simple invoice in Excel. 1. Click the Select All button and change the background color to white. 2. Our invoice template is 3 columns wide. Column A: 418 pixels. Column B: 70 pixels. Column C: 90 pixels. Click on the right border of a column header to change […]

Meal Planner

This article shows you how to create a meal planner in Excel. Here’s what we are trying to achieve:   1. On the second sheet, create the following named ranges. Note: you can add 7 more breakfast meals in the future without changing the range address. 2. On the first sheet, select cell C4. 3. […]

Create a Budget

This example shows you how to create a budget in Excel. 1. Enter the different type of income and expenses in column A. – On the Home tab, in the Font group, you can use the different commands to change the font size and font style of text. Click on the right border of the […]

Calendar

This example describes how to create a 2016 calendar in Excel (or 2017 calendar, 2018 calendar, etc). If you are in a hurry, simply download the Excel file. Note: the instructions below do not teach you how to format the worksheet. We assume that you know how to change font sizes, font styles, insert rows […]

Templates

Instead of creating an Excel workbook from scratch, you can create a workbook based on a template. There are many free templates available, waiting to be used. Existing TemplatesTo create a workbook based on an existing template, execute the following steps. 1. On the green File tab, click New. 2. To choose a template from […]

Search Box

This example teaches you how to create your own search box in Excel. If you are in a hurry, simply download the Excel file. This is what the spreadsheet looks like. If you enter a search query into cell B2, Excel searches through column E and the results appear in column B. To create this […]

Copy Visible Cells Only

By default, Excel copies both visible and hidden cells. However, it is possible to copy visible cells only. In this example, row 2 is hidden. When you copy/paste this range, this is the result: To copy visible cells only, execute the following easy steps. 1. Select the range A1:A4. 2. On the Home tab, click […]

Row Differences

This example teaches you how to quickly highlight cells whose contents are different from the comparison cell in each row. 1. To select the range A1:C15, click on cell A1 and drag it to cell C15. Note: because we selected the range A1:C15 by clicking on cell A1 first, cell A1 is the active cell […]

Delete Blank Rows

This example teaches you how to delete blank rows or rows that contain blank cells. 1. On the Home tab, click Find & Select, Go To Special… 2. Select Blanks and click OK. Excel selects the blank cells. 3. On the Home tab, click Delete, Delete Sheet Rows Result:

Find Features

o access some more advanced find features in Excel, execute the following steps. 1. Click on Options in the ‘Find and Replace’ dialog box. 2. Type the text you want to find. For example, type Ferrari. 3. Select Workbook from the Within drop-down list to find occurrences across all the worksheets. 4. Checking “Match case” […]

Find & Select

You can use Excel’s Find and Replace feature to quickly find specific text and replace it with other text. You can use Excel’s Go To Special feature to quickly select all cells with formulas, comments, conditional formatting, constants, data validation, etc. Find To quickly find specific text, execute the following steps. 1. On the Home […]

Themes

Excel offers themes to change the look of your workbook with the click of a button. Each theme consists of 12 colors, two fonts (Headings and Body) and effects for shapes and SmartArt. 1. On the Page Layout tab, in the Themes group, you can see that the worksheet below uses the standard Office theme. […]

Cell Styles

Quickly format a cell by choosing a cell style. You can also create your own cell style. Quickly format a range of cells by choosing a table style. 1. For example, select cell B2 below. 2. On the Home tab, in the Styles group, choose a cell style. Result. To create your own cell style, […]

Format Painter

The Format Painter is one of the most underused features of Excel. The Format Painter copies formatting from one place and applies it to another. 1. For example, select cell B2 below. 2. On the Home tab, in the Clipboard group, click Format Painter. 3. Select cell D2. Result: Note: the Format Painter applies the […]

Custom Number Format

Excel has many built-in formats that you can use: Currency, Accounting, Date, Time, Percentage, etc. If you cannot find the right format, you can create a custom number format. Leading Zeros For example, you might have codes that consist of 5 numbers. Instead of typing 00041, simply type 41 and let Excel add the leading […]

How to convert – icecream PDF Converter

Add file To add a file for conversion by means of the Windows explorer, hit the “Add file” button in the middle of the queue area. As soon as the first file is added, the queue will turn into a table. To add more files using Windows explorer press the “Add file” button that looks […]

PDF Converter

Converting PDF file to other formats is much difficult. I personally has visited and tried many softwares but every where I faced difficulties but just a few ones, Ice-Cream developers has resolved this problem by launching PDF converter. In just few clicks you can take your desired file in your folders.   Icecream PDF Converter […]

Text to Numbers

By default, text is left-aligned and numbers are right-aligned. This example teaches you how to convert ‘text strings that represent numbers’ to numbers.   1. Select the range A1:A4 and change the number format to General. 2. Numbers preceded by an apostrophe are also treated as text. Select cell A5 and manually remove the apostrophe. […]