Currency vs Accounting

The Currency format and the Accounting format in Excel are very similar to each other. This example shows the difference. 1. Enter the following values. 2. The Currency format places the dollar sign right next to the number. 3. The Accounting format aligns the dollar signs at the left edge of the cell and displays […]

Fractions

This example teaches you how to enter a fraction in Excel and how change the format of a fraction. 1. To enter the fraction 1 4/7 into cell A1, select cell A1 and type 1 4/7. To enter the fraction 4/7, type 0 4/7 (with a 0 or Excel thinks you want to enter a […]

Date and Time Formats

Dates and times in Excel can be displayed in a variety of ways. To apply a Date or Time format, execute the following steps. 1. Select cell A1. 2. Right click, and then click Format Cells. 3. In the Category list, select Date, and select a Date format. 4. Click OK. Note: to apply a […]

Decimal Places

Learn how to show fewer decimal places in Excel without changing the number itself. You can also round a number. 1. Enter the value 2.175 into cell A1. 2. On the Home tab, in the Number group, click the Decrease Decimal button two times. Notice the button next to it to show more decimal places. […]

How to Format Cells

When we format cells in Excel, we change the appearance of a number without changing the number itself. We can apply a number format (0.8, $0.80, 80%, etc) or other formatting (alignment, font, border, etc). 1. Enter the value 0.8 into cell B2. By default, Excel uses the General format (no specific number format) for […]

Spelling Checking

Learn how to check the spelling of text in Excel. You can also add words to your custom dictionary or AutoCorrect list. 1. On the Review tab, click Spelling. 2. Select a suggestion. 3. Click Change to correct the misspelling in cell A2. 4. Click Change All to correct all instances of this misspelling (cell […]

View Multiple Worksheets

If you want to view multiple Excel worksheets at the same time, execute the following steps. 1. Open a workbook. 2. On the View tab, click New Window. Excel opens a new window containing another view of the document. 3. On the View tab, click Arrange All. 4. Select the desired arrange setting. For example, […]

Consolidate

You can use Excel’s Consolidate feature to consolidate your worksheets (located in one workbook or multiple workbooks) into one worksheet. Below you can find the workbooks of three districts. Before you start: if your worksheets are identical, it’s probably easier to create 3D-references (if you have one workbook) or External References (if you have multiple […]

Group Worksheets

You can group all the worksheets which you use daily in Excel. If you want to make change in all worksheets at the same time you can do this in simple way. the following is the way having three (North, Mid and South) sheets and a blank fourth worksheet. 1. To group worksheets, hold down […]

Freezing the Pane

If you have a large amount of data in Excel worksheet and at the bottom of the data or data, you can not see the column heading, to see that you need to go to the top, MS office has solved this problem, it can be useful to freeze rows or columns. This way you […]

Splitting the worksheet

Splitting the worksheet means to view the same worksheet but in multiple view.. To split your worksheet (window) into a upper and lower part (pane), execute the following steps. Go to View tab. Go to Window group. and click of SPLIT button, see below As you click the button, the worksheet will split into four […]

Whatsapp Message Status

Every user want to check the delivery of his/her message and want to know that weather the message has been read by the recipient or not. If you are chatting with a single friend then following heck marks will appear next to each message you send. Here is what each one indicates:   Message has […]

Format Text in Whatsapp

WhatsApp finally lets its users to format text while messaging friends. text can be written in written in bold, italic and with words crossed out. Formatted text takes more attraction and attention to the reader, specially Bold, italic and Strike through words word in text. see below Formation is very easy and quickly, there is […]

Protect a workbook

First of all you need to know the difference about Protect the worksheet, protect the workbook and protect the file. To know about this, click here. To prevent others from viewing hidden worksheets, adding, moving, deleting, hiding worksheets, and renaming them, you can protect the structure of your Excel workbook with a smart password. Protect […]

Introduction to Worksheet – MS Excel

Worksheet is the collection of cells arranged in rows and columns where a user calculate and does his working. When you create a file, by default it has three worksheets, as shown in the following figure i.e. Sheet 1, Sheet 2 and Sheet 3 Select a Worksheet  When you create a file, by default Sheet1 […]

Unlock specific Cell or Cells during Protection

Some time it is required to lock all the contents but except of some specific cell(s). MS Excel also has provided this facility to unlock specific cell or cells while protecting whole of the rest sheet. See below Suppose, in above figure you want to allow user to change his name, roll number program etc […]

Protect Worksheet

Protecting the worksheet restricts the reader to change, edit or move the data in worksheet. Note: Protecting the worksheet is different feature from Protecting the MS file and Restrict Editing MS Word File. Protecting the Worksheet in MS Excel is an excellent feature that allow the writer to restrict the reader to change the content of […]

Colour the worksheet tabs

Sometime user feel irritation while clicking the sheet tabs because all the tabs have same colour and it takes some time to find out the tab. so to remove this time consumption a user can change the colour of the sheet tab to differentiate from each other. See below To change the colour, perform the […]

Zoom the Worksheet

Sometime user can not see some symbols due to his/her eye problem, that’s why MS excel has facility for them to zoom the worksheet to 400% normally. See below After opening the Worksheet, you can see at right bottom corner, there is zoom bar having the range from 10% to 400%. See Below In above […]

Combine different cells by “&” Operator

In last post we have learn how to merge two cells using CONCATENATE but there is another easy way to combine different cells that is using & operator. This method is very easy as compared to Concatenate because typing the & is much easier and quicker than typing the word “concatenate”.Combining by & Operator In this […]